Comet Open Chipstead

A brisk force 3-4 Westerly breeze and sunshine greeted the 22 strong fleet for the Chipstead Comet Open meeting on Saturday 11th June. Home sailors made up the vast majority of the fleet, with 4 visitors from Silver Wing, Burghfield and Up River Sailing Clubs. Nearly one third of the fleet were women, which reflects the huge success of Chipstead's Women On Water programme and also the inclusivity of the Xtra rig.

RACE 1 - Local helm, Sarah Jane Critchley made an excellent start from the port biased line and took an immediate lead. However, the oscillating wind allowed starters from the opposite end to recover and arrive at the windward mark together. Places changed several times on subsequent beats, with Mark Wilkins making the best of the shifting and gusting wind to win this race. Michael Ettershank from Up River SC secured second place ahead of early leaders, Guy Wilkins and Sarah Jane Critchley. Two more visitors took the next two places, with Chris Robinson and Ken Baker in 5th and 6th respectively. But it was Chipstead's famous Women On Water sailors, Marion White, Louise Curry and Meg Warren who took the following three positions.

RACE 2 - Guy lead the way from start to finish in the second race, with brother Mark gaining a valuable second place, ensuring that Chipstead would have the overall winner this year. Chris Robinson powered his way through into 3rd, ahead of Michael and Sarah Jane. Louise had her best race of the day just ahead of the rapidly improving Cliff Webb. Richard Sammons secured his first top ten finish of the day. Retirements and capsizes were becoming a familiar feature by the end of the second race.

RACE 3 - More than a quarter of the fleet failed to complete the deciding race of the day; including Mark, who decided to remain on shore to protect an existing knee injury and having to hope for a new race winner. However, it was Guy who took the lead from start to finish to take the overall victory with Mark 2nd. The decider for the final podium position took place between Michael, Chris and Sarah Jane. That was indeed the order in which they crossed the line, with Michael winning the battle of the standard sails and the ever consistent Sarah Jane, getting another 4th place.

Misha Myers received the "Endeavour" prize. She was sailing in her first Comet Open and finished in 22nd place.

Ian Forsdyke won the most notable capsize award, for getting his boat up very quickly but failing to sail away after lassoing the starting marker with his main sheet!

Richard Sammons was the top Veteran over 65.

1st	Guy Wilkins	(Xw)	12th John Taylor-Ingle	(Xw)
2nd	Mark Wilkins	(Xw)	13th Nick Mumford	(Xw)
3rd	Michael Ettershank.	(St)	14th Ken Baker	(Xw)
4th	Chris Robinson	(St)	15th Jane Marshall	(Xw)
5th	Sarah Jane Critchley	(Xw)	16th Iain Tytler	(Xw)
6th	Cliff Webb	(Xw)	17th Marion White	(Xw)
7th	Louise Curry	(Xw)	18th Lorenzo Coelho	(Xw)
8th	Meg Warren	(Xw)	19th Ian Forsdyke	(Xw)
9th	Barry Oherlihy	(Xw)	20th Helen Evans	(Xw)
10th	Richard Sammons	(Xw)	21st Stephen Whitmore	(St)
11th	Darren Tulley	(St)	22nd Misha Myers	(Xw)

Guy Wilkins